Giveaway: 10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac

Today, we are thrilled to present a giveaway of a brand new YA novel from author Carrie Mac.

About the book:

10 Things I Can See From Here

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella’s Finding Audrey and Nicola Yoon’s Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.

Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.

Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.

Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?

“With Maeve, Mac delivers a character who’s heartwarmingly real and sympathetic, and her story provides a much needed mirror for anxious queer girls everywhere.”—Kirkus, Starred review

“This is a good companion book for other anxiety-riddled stories, such as The Shattering by Karen Healey, and Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella.”—Booklist

“Mac carefully makes clear that Maeve is plenty able to find joy other places than the perfect girl and that she’s working at dealing with her own problems; the romance is therefore lovely and cozy and free from overtones of dependency. The descriptions of anxiety are true and powerful, and romance buffs will likely revel in a book celebrating deep connection.”—The Bulletin

“Mac is good at showing how a dread-filled mind works… [An] affecting story.”—Publishers Weekly

Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers
Feb 28, 2017 | 320 Pages | 5-1/2 x 8-1/4 | Young Adult | ISBN 9780399556258

Read the excerpt online HERE.

About the authors:


Award-winning author Carrie Mac is well-known for her adeptness at captivating young adult audiences; she has written ten books for young adults, and won the 2010 Sheila A. Egoff Book Prize for her previous work, The Gryphon Project. She lives with her family in Vancouver, BC.

The Giveaway:

10 Things I Can See From Here

We have five copies of 10 Things I Can See From Here up for grabs! The sweeps is open to addresses in the United States only, and is available until March 31, 2017 at 12:01am EST. Use the form below to enter and good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

You Might Also Like


  • John Smith
    March 13, 2017 at 12:05 am

    I don’t presently have a favorite YA novel, but I am looking forward to The Gentleman’s Guide To Vice and Virtue.

  • Lexi
    March 13, 2017 at 6:20 am

    I just read This is Shyness, which was cute but more YA fantasy/magic realism. Though I did like Jellicoe Road when I read it a while ago.

  • Sharon
    March 13, 2017 at 11:51 am

    I loved Before I Fall before it was a movie! In fact, the movie looks nowhere near as good as the book.

  • Susan Dyer
    March 13, 2017 at 10:54 pm

    My favorite for this year so far is Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon!

    Thank you for the chance to read this awesome book!!

  • Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks
    March 17, 2017 at 4:45 pm

    My favorite YA contemporary is definitely The Perks of Being a Wallflower; it inspired me to pursue psychiatry, and here I am, ten years later on track for med school. 🙂 A favorite from this year would be A List of Cages by Robin Roe.

    Thank you so much for the chance! I read this book via Netgalley and I really, really loved it and would love to get my hands on a physical copy. 🙂

  • Elisquared
    March 19, 2017 at 10:34 pm

    My favorite contemporary novel is, and will always be, Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson.

    Thank you for the chance to win; this book sounds great!

Leave a Reply