7 Rated Books Book Reviews

Book Review: Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens

Title: Murder Most Unladylike (UK) / Murder is Bad Manners (US)

Author: Robin Stevens

Genre: Middle Grade, Mystery

Publisher: Corgi / Simon and Schuster
Publication Date: June 2014 / June 2015
Hardcover: 324 Pages

Murder Most Unladylike Murder is Bad Manners

Deepdean School for Girls, 1934. When Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong set up their very own deadly secret detective agency, they struggle to find any truly exciting mysteries to investigate. (Unless you count the case of Lavinia’s missing tie. Which they don’t, really.)

But then Hazel discovers the Science Mistress, Miss Bell, lying dead in the Gym. She thinks it must all have been a terrible accident – but when she and Daisy return five minutes later, the body has disappeared. Now the girls know a murder must have taken place . . . and there’s more than one person at Deepdean with a motive.

Now Hazel and Daisy not only have a murder to solve: they have to prove a murder happened in the first place. Determined to get to the bottom of the crime before the killer strikes again (and before the police can get there first, naturally), Hazel and Daisy must hunt for evidence, spy on their suspects and use all the cunning, scheming and intuition they can muster. But will they succeed? And can their friendship stand the test?

Stand alone or series: The first in the Wells and Wong series

How did I get this book: Bought

Format (e- or p-): eBook

Why did I read this book: Girls! Detectives! and also Aisha’s review

Review:

I have a confession to make: I have the hardest time suspending disbelief when it comes to books featuring children investigating murders cases. I often find myself utterly unable to believe that children are better at this than actual detectives and also: what-are-these- children-doing-investigating-murders-don’t-they-know-how-dangerous-that-is? And YET: I equally seem to always find myself navigating toward these books and reading them anyway because Girls! Solving crimes! is too attractive a premise for me to pass. With that in mind, the success of such books will ultimately depend on the execution and the voice.

Cue Murder Most Unladylike which turned out to be so delightful, it was easy to suspend disbelief. It’s a blend of historical novel – set in the early 30s in a boarding school for girls – and old-school detective novels a la Sherlock Holmes. The narrative is doctorwatson-ed (TM Adam Roberts) by Hazel Wong, a Hong Kong expat who, together with best friend Daisy Wells, runs a secret detective agency that up until the beginning of the novel had only come across mundane cases to investigate.

But then one fateful day, Hazel finds the body of their Science Mistress, Miss Bell, in the gym. Hazel runs for help but when she returns with Daisy five minutes later, the body is gone. Official word from school says Miss Bell is simply gone – something to do with a broken heart maybe. But Hazel and Daisy know better and intend to prove that a murder actually happened.

Murder Most Unladylike’s central murder mystery is not only skilfully plotted but also built on incidental threads that when put together provide an interesting picture that encompasses not only the actual mystery but also difficulties surrounding the two main characters’ friendship as well as wider gender, sexuality (two of the female teachers are in a relationship, one of them clearly bi) and race issues.

As a character of colour, Hazel has had to deal with the casual racism and micro-aggressions of her classmates as well as an interesting internalised anglophilia. Similarly, given the historical context of the novel, it’s no surprise that gender roles are foremost when portraying the girls. There are burdens put on the girls that relate to their gender, to the sort of good behaviour that is expected of them (actually part of the murder investigation in more ways than anticipated) and to how intelligent and smart they are allowed to be. This latter point is actually, a strong focus of Daisy and Hazel’s characterisation, both girls having had to play down their smarts; their “secret” detective agency therefore functions as an outlet for their intelligence.

My favourite thing about the book though – beyond Hazel’s voice – is the girls’ own fraught relationship. It’s clear that they like each other but there is a marked power difference in their dynamics that relates to class, race and self-confidence. The evolution of that relationship is something that will be interesting to follow in future instalments. That is to say: I will be back for more. And for an excellent companion/read-alike: you can’t go wrong with last year’s The Wig in the Window by Kristen Kittscher.

Rating: 7 – Very Good

Reading Next: Scale-Bright by Benjanun Sriduangkaew

Buy the Book:

(click on the links to purchase)

Book Depository UK

Ebook available for kindle US, kindle UK, Kobo & iBooks

9 Comments

  • Kate Hannigan
    August 19, 2014 at 8:09 am

    Loved “Wig in the Window”! This sounds similar and so fun. Girls! Solving crimes! I’m getting ahold of this book today!

  • Shae/Shelver @ Shae Has Left The Room
    August 19, 2014 at 11:47 am

    I’m bouncing in my chair right now. I thought the book looked adorable, so I’m thrilled to hear that you liked it! Hooraaaay, blogging canaries FTW! Also, I had no idea Hazel wasn’t white (am now squinting at the cover), so I’m doubly excited to read it someday.

  • Kristen Kittscher
    August 19, 2014 at 3:17 pm

    Kate, you will love it! It’s almost embarrassing how much I adored this book, as you’re right: The Wig in the Window and it do have quite a bit in common! (Thanks for the shout-out.) Young and Yang should time travel to solve cases with Wells and Wong…though I’m pretty sure Yang and Wells would throttle each other as they vied for control. Not surprisingly, I really loved how expertly Stevens explored the power dynamics of Hazel and Daisy’s friendship and Hazel’s experience of otherness, all without bogging down the mystery hijinks. I know what you mean about the preposterous in kids’ mysteries–kids solving real crimes can be tough to take for an adult reader, though it’s doubtful ten year olds are crossing their arms and shaking their heads. (My latest solution is to double-down on preposterousness!) Stevens’ writing is such a delight that she managed to suck me in entirely, and I pushed aside all disbelief. A fantastic read! Too bad the US must wait!

  • Catherine King
    August 22, 2014 at 7:54 pm

    I enjoyed this book so much, and I’m glad to hear there’s a sequel in the works. I loved Hazel as a narrator, and I thought that her and Daisy’s relationship was a neat deconstruction of the Sherlock-Watson dynamic. I also loved how the queer goings-on at Deepdean were treated so matter-of-factly (by the author… Hazel might not be entirely aware of what’s going on).

  • Murder is Bad Manners: A Book Review | Ciao Bella!
    June 13, 2015 at 5:01 am

    […] “Cue Murder Most Unladylike which turned out to be so delightful, it was easy to suspend disbelief. It’s a blend of historical novel – set in the early 30’s in a boarding school for girls – and old-school detective novels a la Sherlock Holmes” {read the rest of the review at The Book Smugglers HERE}. […]

  • Murder is Bad Manners | alibrarymama
    August 25, 2015 at 4:46 pm

    […] pretty sure that I first heard about this one from the Book Smugglers – Ana living in England could of course read this before me here in the U.S. Brandy at Random […]

  • poo smell
    June 13, 2016 at 12:51 pm

    i loved it and am reading the second one (arsenic for tea) my friends say it is not as good as the first one

  • Verify and Buy » Book Review: Mistletoe and Murder by Robin Stevens
    November 18, 2016 at 3:47 am

    […] 1.A Murder Most Unladylike 2.Arsenic for Tea 3.First Class Murder 4.Jolly Foul Play […]

  • Book Review: A Spoonful of Murder by Robin Stevens – Headlines
    March 13, 2018 at 10:01 am

    […] 1.A Murder Most Unladylike 2.Arsenic for Tea 3.First Class Murder 4.Jolly Foul Play 5.Mistletoe and Murder […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.